With the silhouette of the village outlined against the sky, Ingriés provides visitors a view of the region’s contrasts from the top of the village next to the Romanesque-style chapel of San Juan (12th century).
The Parish Church of Nuestra Señora de la Esperanza was built after the destruction of the original structure during the Spanish Civil War. The current building dates from 1950.
A stroll through its simple streets is well-worth a visit, as well as the climb up to the Chapel of San Juan, which still preserves its original murals and a medieval necropolis. Today, it serves as the cemetery’s chapel.
Igriés celebrates its annual festivals on January 20th in honor of St. Fabian and St. Sebastian. The pilgrimage to the Chapel of the Virgen del Olivar is celebrated on May 11th and St. John is celebrated on June 24th.
The village of Yéqueda is located almost at the gates of Huesca.
Its streets are home to several historic country homes, such as “Casa Calvo”, which dates from 1781 and features a stunning coat of arms, and the Parish Church of San Martín, of Romanesque origin but remodeled in the 18th century. The tower was practically broken in two for many years, but was later restored to improve the appearance of the entire building. Inside, the church houses valuable pieces of metal work that dates back to the 16th and 18th centuries.
There are many points of interest nearby: visitors can see the remains of the Roman villa of Manjarrés as well as the unpopulated Celtic settlement of Puiyéqueda.
The village celebrates its annual festival on November 11th in honor of St. Martin, and Yéqueda is one of the “Siete Lugares (Seven Places)” that is, villages that swore their loyalty to the Chapel of Loreto and St. Lawrence.